FANDOM


Strike Back
Japanflag Sストライク・バック
(Storaiku Bakku)
Strikeback
Released:
DM-17 The Over-Technocross
Japanese Wiki: 1140
Category for Strike Back

Strike Back is a keyword shared among each of the 5 monocolored civilizations.

Details

This ability features on both creatures and spells. Whenever one of your shields is put into your hand and a card with Strike Back that has the fulfilled conditions of the shield is there, you may discard that shield. If you do, you may summon that creature or cast that spell for no cost. As it isn't Shield Trigger, it isn't stopped by cards such as Cursed Totem, and cards that return your shields to your hand but don't allow shield triggers to be used such as Emeral.

It later appeared in DMX-12 Black Box Pack on Aqua Advisor where it required the Hunter race instead of a civilization.

A major feature of this ability appears in the DMR-16真 Super Battle Guynext x Shin set, which is 9 years after the introduction of the ability.

It has a variant, Super Strike Back.

Reminder Text

The latest reminder text for Strike Back reads;

Strikeback Strike BackCIVILIZATION (When a "CIVILIZATION" card is put into your hand from your shield zone, you may discard that card. If you do, summon this creature/cast this spell for no cost.)

Example

Ochappi, Pure Hearted Faerie
Nature / Creature / Snow Faerie / 3 / 1000
Strikeback Strike Back—Nature (When a Nature card is put into your hand from your shield zone, you may discard that card. If you do, summon this creature for no cost.)

■ When you put this creature into the battle zone, you may put a card from your graveyard into your mana zone.

Dmx12a-22


Cards with the Strike Back ability

Rulings

  • Q: How many Strike Backs can you use at a time?
    • A: For each shield returned to your hand you may use Strike Back once.
  • Q: Do you need cost to use Strike Back?
  • Q: If you get a shield with Shield Trigger and you have a Strike Back in your hand, how do you use them?
    • A: You choose either one to trigger. You can't choose to use both.
  • Q: Does the effect of Emeral, which prevents you from using Shield Triggers, allow you to use Strike Back?
    • A: Yes, as it isn't shield trigger.

Color percentages

There are a total of 11 cards with the Strike Back ability, which divide by civilization as such: