FANDOM


Instead
かわり (Kawari)
Japanese Wiki: 3258

Instead is an important game term in the Duel Masters Trading Card Game.

Details

Some abilities say that if one thing (a game event) would happen, another thing happens instead.

For these abilities, the original event never occurs. It's replaced by an entirely new event that happens when the first event would have happened. For example, if your Aqua Knight would be destroyed, it returns to your hand. Your opponent wouldn't be able to trigger their abilities of cards such as Mongrel Man that draw a card when a creature is destroyed as the Aqua Knight is never destroyed.

However, if two substitution abilities that say "instead" would take place at the same time, a double substitution effect will occur and the instead that would protect the subjected creature from a regular event will not occur.

Examples

Examples include:

  • Aqua Knight
    When this creature would be destroyed, return it to your hand instead.
  • Ouks, Vizier of Restoration
    When this creature would be destroyed, add it to your shields face down instead.
  • Shaman Broccoli
    When this creature would be destroyed, put it into your mana zone instead.

Instead Abilities

Keywords

Other Abilities

Rulings

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.9 (August 9th, 2018)

  • 101.5. Substitution effects may occur only once per chain/event. If more than one substitution effect is present in a chain, only the first substition effect takes place.
    • 101.5a When changing the part of the sentence in which the substitution effect is delimited by the punctuation marks, the range to be delimited by that punctuation mark. The sentence will not be replaced anymore. Even within the same capability "expressed as such," If it is a sentence delimited by another punctuation point it is considered a different event, that part is replaced I will not treat it as having it. The original effect including the replacement part is treated as one effect I will understand.
    • 101.5b When multiple substitution effects exist at the same time, similar to normal effect processing, the active player's effect is given priority. When the same player has multiple substitution effects, he chooses which to apply. For example, if your opponent has Dorago the Great, Dragon World and you summon Forever Princess, Eternal Ruler only Dorago's "Instead" effect triggers

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.12 (September 28th, 2018)

  • 101.5. 置換効果はひとつのイベントに対して1回のみ行う同一のイベントにおいて適用される置換効果は1つだけです.イベントとは, ゲーム中に起こりうるすべての出来事を指します.あるイベントがすでに置換されている場合, それ以上置換することはできません.
    • 101.5a 置換効果が句点で区切られる文章の一部を変更したとき, その句点で区切られる範囲の文章はそれ以上置換されることはありません.同じ能力内でも「そうした場合, 」などで表される別の句点で区切られる文章であればそれは別のイベントとみなし, その部分は置換されているものとして扱いません.もともとの効果は置換された箇所を含めてひとつの効果として処理します.
    • 101.5b 複数の置換効果が同時に存在するとき, 通常の効果処理と同様にターン・プレイヤーの置換効果を優先して適用します.同一プレイヤーが複数の置換効果を持つ場合, どの置換効果を適用するか選ぶことができます.

Related Categories