FANDOM


Effect
効果 (Kōka)
Japanese Wiki: 2366
Effect is the influence that occurs to the gameplay by the resolution of spells, abilities and static abilities.

Details

This is usually divided into Oneshot Effect and Continuous Effects. Substitution Effect are a kind of Continuous Effect.

The text used on a card shows an effect, but isn't actually an effect in itself. The effect of a card is highlighted in bold in the examples below:

The text used on a card produces some form of effect. However, this is does not include the Flavor Text, Artist or any copyright and card or set number information.

If the effect requires gameplay actions where they can't all be completed, see "Empty Shot".

Effects written on a card only affect cards that are in the battle zone unless specified on the card itself (such as cards that apply to the deck or mana zone) or only applicable to other game zones (such as discard effects only affecting the hand, or cards that bring others from the Hyperspatial Zone).

Although all effects can stack, some overlap abilities create no difference, such as multiple instances of the same Breaker like a creature having 2x "Double Breaker" abilities.

Rulings

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.9 (August 9th, 2018)

  • 606. Effect
    • 606.1. An effect is something that happens in the game as a result of using a card or an ability of a card. When a spell, activated ability, or trigger ability resolves, it may create one or more one-shot or continuous effects. Static abilities may create one or more continuous effects. Text itself is never an effect.
    • 606.2. If an effect attempts to do something impossible, it does only as much as possible.

      Example: If a player is holding only one card, an effect that reads “Discard two cards” causes them to discard only that card.

    • 606.3. Some continuous effects are replacement effects.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.12 (September 28th, 2018)

  • 606. 効果
    • 606.1. 「効果」とは, カードの使用や能力の結果としてゲーム内で起こる出来事のことです.呪文能力や起動型能力, 誘発型能力は, 解決されると, 1 つまたは複数の単発的効果または継続的効果を発生させます.常在型能力は, 1 つまたは複数の継続的効果を発生させます.ルール文章そのものは効果ではありません.
    • 606.2. 効果が実現不可能なことを要求している場合, 可能な部分だけを実行します.例.プレイヤーが 1 枚だけ手札を持っている場合, 「手札を 2 枚捨てる」という効果はその持っているカードだけを捨てさせます.
    • 606.3. 継続的効果の中には, 置換効果が存在します.