FANDOM


Cost
コスト (Kosuto)
Japanese Wiki: 1933
Cost has 2 meanings in Duel Masters.

Details

It refers to the following;

Explanation of 1

Tulk, the Oracle
Light / Creature / Light Bringer / 1 / 500
O'Flame, Temporal Djinn
Fire / Psychic Creature / Flame Command / 5 / 5000
■ Awaken—When this creature attacks your opponent and isn't blocked, each of your other psychic creatures that cost 5 or less gets "power attacker +2000" and breaks an additional shield until the end of the turn. After the attack, flip this creature to its higher cost side.


In the case of a card in your deck, you may play the card by paying for its Mana Cost in mana during the Main Step.

In the case of a card that starts in your hyperspatial zone, instead of paying mana, you put them into the battle zone by the effect of cards such as Hyperspatial spells. These cards refer to the cost of the card which is known as the Psychic Cost (officially Hyperspatial Cost).

While they are used and described differently, in the text field of a card, they are both collectively expressed as "Cost".

Explanation of 2

Dark Soul Creation
Darkness / Spell / 4
You may destroy one of your creatures. If you do, draw 3 cards.
Bolmeteus Musha Dragon
Fire / Creature / Armored Dragon / 6 / 6000
■ Double breaker

■ Whenever this creature attacks, you may put one of your shields into your graveyard. If you do, destroy one of your opponent's creatures that has power 6000 or less.


In the effect clause of the ability, it is written as "If you do A, do B". If you can't do the A condition, you can't do the B effect.

For example, if you attack with Bolmeteus Musha Dragon but not put any of your shields into your graveyard, you can't destroy any of your opponents creatures.

However, in the case of Volcanic Arrows, "Choose one of your shields and put it into your graveyard." is written as part of a secondary effect, and not as a condition for the first ability. Therefore, it's not treated as a cost and you may remove a creature even if you don't have a shield to remove.

Rules of Cost

  • In the case of "If C, do D" represented by the "If you do, EFFECT", it is possible to pay the cost assuming that the "If you do" condition was paid. However, if there was even one card corresponding to "C", you won't have paid the cost if you don't use it. For example) If you summon Zeta-File, Zenith of "Mystery", even if you destroy no other creatures, you are still able to reanimate any Demon Commands from your graveyard. If you had any other creatures, you must destroy them in order to reanimate.
  • The cost is paid even if other events occur such as the cost being increased or decreased, or replaced with a Continuous Effect such as a Substitution Effect. For example, if you destroy Aqua Soldier with Dark Soul Creation, it will return to your hand, but as the Destroy cost was paid, you can draw 3 cards.
  • When referring to the cost paid by an effect, it isn't possible to refer to the substituted cost. However, if the cost is paid for by destruction, even if the destruction is replaced, it can be counted for abilities that include "for each creature destroyed in this way". For example, if the destruction is replaced with the ability of Perfect Galaxy, Spirit of Immortality when destroyed by Zabi Mira, the Reviving Shaman, you can put out a Psychic Creature.

Other

Rulings

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.9 (August 9th, 2018)

  • 112. Cost
    • 112.1. There are two types of cost: Mana Cost and Psychic Cost.
    • 112.2. Mana Cost is the amount of mana you need to pay to use the card. This includes the payment of civilization that the card has.
      • 112.2a When paying for a card Mana Cost, make sure to satisfy each of the same civilizations. You must tap at least 1 card of each civilization of that cards respective civilizations in order to pay for that cost. If needed, you need to tap any additional cards (if needed) to pay for the remainder of the cards total cost.

        Example: If you are paying for the cost of a Darkness/Fire multicolored card that has a Mana Cost of 4, you must tap a Darkness and Fire card in your mana zone and then tap an additional to cards (regardless of their civilization) to pay the remainder of the cards. Even if you tap a multicolored card that is 2 or more civilizations, it can only contribute 1 civilization per card.

      • 112.2b The Mana required to pay for a card's cost can be increased or decreased by the use of various effects. If the cost of a card falls below the number of civilizations that are required to summon it, the tapping of civilizations is given priority over the cost. For example, if a player has Cocco Lupia (which reduces the cost of a Dragon by 2) on their side of the battle zone and want to summon Perfect Earth, Planetary Dragon (a Dragon with each of the 5 civilizations), they will be required to still tap 5 cards in their mana zone to pay for the civilization requirements of the card regardless of the cost required to summon being reduced to 3.
      • 112.2c If the payment of civilization and the total cost of the card is fulfilled, you can't tap any additional mana.
    • 112.3. There are several abilities that are able to use cards without paying for their mana cost (these cards include "for no cost" in their text).::112.3a ::112.3b ::112.3c ::112.3d
      • 112.3e Even if you use an effect that includes "you may ~, for no cost" in the effect text, the keyword action of "Summon", "Cast" or "Generate" is still performed so any abilities that would trigger from those actions still occur.
      • 112.3f Attack Chance is an ability found on some spells that allows a player to cast a spell without spending its cost under specified conditions.
    • 112.4. Psychic Cost is seen on psychic creatures and draghearts that are played from the hyperspatial zone. It refers to the cost referenced when they are in the zone.
    • 112.5. When in the battle zone, effects that refer to the mana cost of a card refer to Mana cost and Psychic Cost in the same way.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.8 (August 9th, 2018)

  • 112. コスト
    • 112.1. コストにはマナコストと超次元コストの2種類があります.
    • 112.2. マナコストは, カードを使用するために支払う必要のあるマナの量を示しています.そこにはそのカードが持つ文明の支払いも含まれています.
      • 112.2a マナコストを支払う場合, マナコストに指示される同じ文明をすべて満たすようにタップします.カードを使用するに際してまずマナコストに含まれる文明をすべて満たすようにマナゾーンのカードを1文明につき1枚タップします.さらにマナゾーンのカードのマナシンボル上に書かれた数値の合計がコストと同じ数になるように, 不足分をマナゾーンのカードをタップして支払います.例 . マナコスト7の火と闇と自然の文明を持つ多色カードのコストを支払う場合, マナゾーンから火文明を持つカード, 闇文明を持つカード, 自然文明を持つカードをそれぞれ別々に 1枚ずつタップして, さらにマナの数値が合計 7 になるように不足している分をタップします.1 枚で火と闇と自然すべてを持つ多色カードをタップしても, それで全ての文明を満たしたことにはならず, 火か闇か自然のうちどれか一つの文明として扱います.
      • 112.2b プレイヤーが実際に支払うマナコストは, 効果によって増減することがあります.マナコストがコスト減少効果によって必要な文明の数より少なくなった場合, 文明の支払いを優先します.このとき超過した分のマナは支払い終了時になくなります.例:コッコ・ルピアがいてコストが3になった星龍パーフェクト・アースは, 文明の支払いのためにマナゾーンのカードを5枚タップすることが可能です.
      • 112.2c 文明やコストの支払いが適切に完了している場合, 余分にマナゾーンのカードをタップすることはできません.:::112.3.マナコストを支払うことなくカードを使用することができる能力がいくつか存在します.
      • 112.3a S・トリガーはブレイクなどでシールドが手札に加えられるとき, そのカードを対戦相手に見せて宣言することで, 即座にコストを支払わずに使うことができます.複数のS・トリガーを持つカードがシールドから手札に加えられる場合, 使用するカードを対戦相手に見せて宣言を行います.それらのカードは一度手札で待機状態となり, その後, 通常と同様に処理されます.呪文の場合は呪文の効果解決までがS・トリガーの能力となりますが, クリーチャーは召喚することまでがS・トリガー能力です.バトルゾーンに出たことによって誘発する効果は別個のイベントとして扱います.
      • 112.3b ニンジャ・ストライクは, ターン・プレイヤーのクリーチャーが攻撃した後の非ターン・プレイヤーの処理タイミング, または非ターン・プレイヤーのクリーチャーがブロックした後のターン・プレイヤーの処理タイミングにおいて, 指定されたマナゾーンの枚数を満たしていた場合にクリーチャーのコストを支払わずに召喚する能力です.それ以前のタイミングで条件を満たしていなくても, 処理タイミングにおいて使用条件がそろっていれば使用することができます.
      • 112.3c ニンジャ・ストライクは、ターン・プレイヤーのクリーチャーが攻撃した後の非ターン・プレイヤーの処理タイミング、または非ターン・プレイヤーのクリーチャーがブロックした後のターン・プレイヤーの処理タイミングにおいて、指定されたマナゾーンの枚数を満たしていた場合にクリーチャーのコストを支払わずに召喚する能力です。それ以前のタイミングで条件を満たしていなくても、宣言するタイミングにおいて使用条件がそろっていれば使用することができます。
      • 112.3d G・ゼロは指定された条件下においてクリーチャーや呪文のコストを支払わずに召喚したり唱えたりする能力です。
      • 112.3e その他「コストを支払うことなく使用してよい」という効果を使用した場合でも,「召喚」したり、「唱え」たり「ジェネレート」する行為自体は実行されているので、その行為によって誘発する能力は誘発します。
      • 112.3f アタック・チャンスは指定された条件下において呪文のコストを支払わずに唱えてもよい能力です。
    • 112.4. 超次元コストは, サイキック・クリーチャーやドラグハートを超次元ゾーンからバトルゾーンに出す際に参照されるコストのことです.
    • 112.5. マナコストも超次元コストも, コストを参照する効果がある場合, 同様のものとして扱います.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.9 (August 9th, 2018)

  • 201. Cost
    • 201.1. Cost is a characteristic of a card. A card's cost is usually indicated by a number written in the upper corner.
      • 201.1a The mana cost of a card represents the amount of mana a player must pay to use the card.
      • 201.1b Psychic creatures and draghearts have psychic costs instead of mana costs. Psychic cost cannot be paid with mana.
    • 201.2. When referring to the cost of the card, Mana cost or super We refer to that number regardless of dimension cost.
      • 201.2a The cost of a card always refers to the cost originally written on the card even if an effect modifies the cost of using the card.

        Example: The cost of Bolshack NEX is 6 while it is in the battle zone even if there are any Cocco Lupia in the battle zone as well. Therefore, it cannot be destroyed by the effect of Musashi Hall which destroys creatures with cost 4 or less.

From the Duel Masters - General Game Rules: Version 1.8 (August 9th, 2018)

  • 201. コスト
    • 201.1. コストはカードの持つ特性です.通常カードの左上隅に記されている数字で示されています.
      • 201.1a カードのマナコストの数値は, そのカードを使用するために支払う必要のあるマナの数を表します.
      • 201.1b サイキック・クリーチャーや, ドラグハートはマナコストを持たず, 代わりに超次元コストを持ちます.超次元コストをマナで支払うことはできません.
    • 201.2. カードのコストを参照する場合, マナコストや超次元コストにかかわらずその数値を参照します.
      • 201.2a 効果によってカードを使用する際のコストが変更されているときであっても, カードのコストを参照する場合は本来カードに書かれているコストを参照します.例 . コッコ・ルピアがいる状態であってもバトルゾーンにいるボルシャックNEXのコストは 6 であり, コスト 4 以下を破壊する超次元ムシャ・ホールの効果によっては破壊されません.